What’s in my beautybagg: Thanksgiving travel edition

my travel beautybagg: thanksgiving 2011 (via Instagram)

Like most of us in the states, I’m getting ready to go home for the Thanksgiving holidays and wanted to feature what’s in my travel beautybagg.  When I pack to go home, I am EXTREMELY low maintenance – I usually end up using almost nothing of what I brought, and most of the stuff I bring is for “just in case”.  Something about being around family that makes it feel like I’m totally overdoing it if I have to apply eyeshadow with a brush.  This is also a good showcase of my go-t0, no-fuss products:

Makeup bag: from Alexa Chung for Madewell eyes eyes eyes pouch – at $25, I think it’s overpriced for a makeup bag, but Madewell was having a 25% off promo so I figured, what the hey – welcome to your new home (mine).

Face/eyebrow (top left quadrant):

  • Garnier Tinted Skin Renew Anti-Dark Circle Roller – VERY light coverage for undereye, feels nice and cooling
  • Cle de Peau concealer in Beige – the most expensive concealer I own at $70.  My verdict?  It’s nice and creamy but not too creamy, has longer staying power than my Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer, easier to use than my Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage, but not worth $70.
  • Chantecaille Just Skin Tinted Moisturizer in Glow – I LOVE THIS TINTED MOISTURIZER!!  It’s so easy to smooth on with fingers, has almost a liquid to powder texture, and makes my face look amazing with such little work (and at $64 it had better!)
  • Chantecaille Ultra Sun Protection SPF50 PA+++ – lightweight SPF, doesn’t make me greasy (and I have very oily skin).  Selling point for me is that it’s paraben free.  However, EXTREMELY pricey at $84.
  • Anastasia Brow Wiz in Medium Ash – so easy to use even someone as horrible at drawing eyebrows as me can use it.  I choose this over my Shu Uemura brow pencil for travel just because it has a built-in spoolie.

Color Products (top middle and right):

  • Tarte Amazonian Clay blush in exposed – the blush that goes with anything
  • MAC Blush in On a Mission (Limited Edition from Style Warriors) – such a lovely plummy color.  I saw this on my friend Anna a few months ago and immediately hunted it down at a CCO.  Totally makes anyone’s cheekbones Linda Evangelista-esque.  Or as close as it’s gonna get.
  • Armani Eyes to Kill #15 – I have a TON (almost literally) of eyeshadows and I’ve been reaching for this one consistently for the past few weeks.  Just apply it to the eyelid and blend out with your fingers – no brush or primer needed.  Such a lovely bronze.  Check out one of our favorite Youtubers RaeView’s tutorial on just how easy it is!
  • MAC Paint Pot in Bare Study – again, use fingers and swipe over lids for an easy bright look.
  • Dior Shimmer Powder in Amber Diamond – everyone’s favorite highlight.  So easy.
  • Majolica Majorca Lash Expander Frame Plus mascara in black – Japanese mascaras are amazing, and this one is my favorite.  WILL NOT SMEAR.
  • Fairy Drops mascara – not sure which version this is, but I was a bit disappointed in it when I first tried it on.  It seems to be very heavy, doesn’t hold my curl very well.  Hopefully it’ll be a bit better after it dries out.
  • MAC Superslick Liquid Eyeliner in black – just in case I want to be bold and do a cat eye
  • Shu Uemura drawing pencil in 01ME Black – shimmery blackened gray eyeliner, so easy to use, not harsh, decent staying power
  • Urban Decay 24/7 eyeliners in Zero and Underground – these tend to smear a bit on me so I’m trying to use them up
  • Revlon Lip Butters in Creme Brulee and Raspberry Pie – lip products of the moment.  Raspberry Pie is a GREAT darker red – I LOVE IT.  Bringing it just in case I want to pair it with the liquid liner and bare study paint pot.

Brushes/tools – I packed 2 too many brushes (or not enough powder products) but when it comes to brushes, I apply the same logic as when I pack for camping – better to have it than not!

  • Shu Uemura eyelash curler – I’ve had this since middle school, still works great
  • Sigma purple travel flat-top kabuki – for buffing out (I always have one just in case)
  • MAC 188 – for a light dusting of Dior Amber Diamond
  • RealTechniques blush brush
  • RealTechniques buffing brush – in case I overdo blush and want to blend out
  • RealTechniques contour brush – for if I want to pack on aforementioned highlight
  • Eyelash comb/eyebrow comb that came with a Lancome gift with purchase – how does anyone else put on mascara without one of these things?  Totally gets rid of clumps.  Can’t apply mascara without one of these.

Doesn’t seem like a lot of products until I type it out!  What is in YOUR travel beautybagg this week?  We would love to know!  Comment below or tweet us at @beautybagg!

What do you think?

