Product Picks for 2011: The New York Times beautybagg edition

The New York Times Product Picks for 2011

Yesterday the Beauty Spots columnist at The New York Times published her Product Picks for 2011.

Below are some of her faves and our thoughts on the ones we’ve tried before:

Dior Capture Totale One Essential Skin Boosting Super Serum – good anti-aging serum, pleasantly scented but I stopped using it because I’m trying to go for products with less synthetic chemical ingredients.

Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm – I have the lightest rosy-pink color (I think it’s called Honeysuckle), and I really like it!  Very moisturizing (even though the regular Burt’s Bees dries my lips out), surprisingly pigmented.  For a natural choice, I would pick these over the Revlon Lip Butters.

MAC Snow Globe Eye Shadows – I’ve swatched these in MAC stores, and I can’t say I’m too impressed with it.  However, one of our favorite Youtube beauty gurus, JulieG713 has a gorgeous makeup tutorial using one, so if pretty packaging is your thing, this might be a palette worth checking out.

Lush Holiday and Seasonal Bath Bombs – I’m a total recovering Lush junkie in progress.  I say “recovering” for a couple of reasons: 1) most of their products have parabens and sulfates in them, which I am trying to minimize, and 2) sometimes they are a bit TOO heavily scented.  I have used and still have a TON of Lush holiday/seasonal products, and they are super fun and festive, so that part is pretty nice =)  (As an aside, I’ve recently purchased soaps from Creamery Creek, which is a small farm that makes all natural goat milk soaps, and they are SUPER creamy and lovely.  More on them when I go through my “beautybagg: shower/bath products” edition.)

Have you tried any of these products or the other ones mentioned in the article?

(Read the full article here!)

What do you think?

