My beautybagg: perfume collection

For the first time in a decade, fragrance sales surpassed the industry average, and this year alone it’s up 5-7% (as published in Women’s Wear Daily).  Business talk aside, all of this points toward the trend that fragrance is making a comeback (assuming prices remained stable), so I thought I’d show my personal, very modest perfume collection.

A few months ago, I got REALLY into learning about fragrances and picked up the book Perfumes: The A-Z Guide as recommended by my friend Risa, the fragrance connoisseur.  Risa even took me to Barneys in Boston to smell different perfumes and described all the notes to me.  I tried to learn about fragrance composition – the notes, the layers – and the classic Guerlain perfumes that started them all, but it sort of all ended in a fail.  I still can’t tell any notes apart, and if the perfume is too heavy, it starts to give me a headache.

As background, I am very sensitive to fragrances, but I really like them.  If you are like me (or if you are thinking of giving fragrances as gifts to someone who may be like me), hopefully you’ll find some inspiration in my choices:

my beautybagg: perfume collection (via Instagram)

Marc Jacobs Biscottimy latest addition, very light and kinda floral.  I don’t really smell the “biscotti”, which I’m guessing is vanilla, but then again I don’t have “the nose” to discern the various notes.  Bottle is huge so it’s meant as a body splash.

Marc Jacobs Daisy – non-offensive floral scent, again very light.  The notes are supposedly Strawberry, Violet Leaves, Ruby Red Grapefruit, Gardenia, Violet Petals, Jasmine Petals, Musk, Vanilla, White Woods.  I got it to try a few years ago but I don’t love it.

Marc Jacobs (rollerball) – my favorite perfume of all time.  It’s not the most sophisticated scent (again another light floral – notice a theme?), but it never gives me a headache.  Notes are Gardenia, Wild Muguet, Skin Musk, Cedar, Ginger.

Laura Mercier Crème Brûlée – part of her gourmand line.  Notes are Warm caramel, Spun sugar, French vanilla beans and White musks.  Smells SO DELICIOUS.  I tend to like this scent only in the colder months – just makes you feel warm, like a walking vanilla latte of sort.

Chloe – A fragrance I bought scent unsniffed just because I like the brand.  Luckily I like the scent, although I rarely wear it.  Notes are Pink Peony, Freesia, Lychee, Magnolia Flower, Lilly of the Valley, Rose, Cedarwood, Amber, Honey.

Jo Malone Nectarine Blossom & Honey Cologne – Another fragrance I got scent unsniffed and I totally regret it.  It’s one of Jo Malone’s most popular scents, but it’s too sweet for me.  As described on her website: Mouthwatering nectarine and peach with hints of plum, blackcurrant and vetiver are combined with the sweet warmth of acacia honey in this truly seductive combination.

Even though I don’t wear them much, I still really enjoy the idea of perfumes and will continue to add them to my beautybagg.  Ones on my list to try are some by Serge Lutens, Acqua di Parma, Byredo, Chanel, Guerlain… ok, basically any.  I want to try them all!

Here are some perfume posts/videos in the blogosphere that helped rekindle my infatuation with fragrances (coincidentally or not, they are all from the UK – maybe all British women have good taste in fragrances?):

  • Buy now, blog later – LOVE Laura, she has exquisite taste in fragrances (as well as all other things beauty-related!)
  • Viviannadoesmakeup – Vivianna reminds me of an old college roommate – so much so that I feel like I already know her and trust her taste!
  • ThePersianBabe – the video that sparked my picking up the aforementioned fragrance book.  Barbara has such a vivid way of describing fragrances that I feel like I can smell them through my computer

What fragrances are in YOUR beautybagg?  What are your favorites?  What scents do you regret buying?

2 comments

What do you think?

