My beautybagg: makeup removers

Cleansing is a huge part of having great skin.  Previously, I wrote about how I clean my makeup brushes, all in an effort to keep my skin clean.  Another big component of cleansing for me is having an effective makeup remover.  For the vast majority of the year, I have very oily skin, so everything I do with regard to makeup is to make it stay put on my face and not slide around.  So when it comes to makeup removal, I need something that works at removing long-wear, waterproof products in one step (I don’t want to fuss around doing this multiple times).

I’ve tried many different ones – both prestige and mass – and here are the ones that I currently have on hand:

my beautybagg: makeup removers (via Instagram)

Bioderma Sensibio H2O – I first heard about this French pharmacy staple from the renowned makeup artist Lisa Eldridge, who keeps this product in both her personal beautybagg and her professional makeup kit.  It’s a micellar water that gently removes even water-resistant makeup.  I find it effective at removing face makeup but not strong enough to remove my waterproof mascara and eyeliner even after holding soaked cotton pads onto my eyes for 15-20 seconds each. 

Yes to Cucumber Facial Towelettes – I always keep some sort of makeup wipe on hand for when I travel, and I really like these.  They are 98.7% natural and leave a fresh tingly sensation on your face.  I know some people find the tingly sensation too irritating, so if you have sensitive skin/eyes you might want to avoid these.  I’ve also tried the Josie Maran Bare Naked Wipes but didn’t find them to be as effective at removing my eye makeup.

Burt’s Bees Natural Acne Solutions Clarifying Toner – I know this is not technically a makeup remover, but I love using this to remove any face moisturizer or makeup I have on my face before I head to bikram yoga class.  It’s effective, and I like that it is 99.5% natural and has salicylic acid to keep my face clear.

Lancome Bifacil Eye makeup remover – I have like 5 of these in sample size.  I find that I only reach for it if I’m trying to remove eye makeup that Bioderma couldn’t remove.  I know a lot of people swear by this, but I don’t feel the need to buy a full size when I run out of my samples.

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil – Oh, how did I ever turn my back on you?  My absolute HG (holy grail) makeup remover, this cleansing oil is EXTREMELY effective at removing every trace of my waterproof makeup and does not leave an oily residue afterwards (unlike Lancome Bifacil).  I’ve repurchased this many times, but earlier this year I got on the Bioderma bandwagon and gave my full-size bottle away to my sister, and I’ve regretted it ever since.  After I run out of Bioderma, I’m running back to the safe, clean embrace of Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil.

What are your favorite makeup removers?  Are there any you don’t like?

4 comments

  1. mimishih

    Really everyone was raving about the Bioderma on ITG….would you just use the Shu Umera oil as a basic everyday face wash or only as a makeup remover?

    • beautybaggblog

      Bioderma doesn’t work well on waterproof eye makeup for me. Even their website says it’s only effective on water-resistant makeup.

      I only use the She Uemura as an all over makeup remover, but I know some people with drier skin do use it as their face wash!

What do you think?

