My beautybagg: MAC eyeshadows

I find that most people who start getting really into makeup start out with MAC, and their products have become the benchmark to what everything else is compared.  I have beyond too many MAC blushes and 3 palettes of MAC eyeshadows, and they are my fall-back when I can’t think of what else to put on.  I’ve stopped acquiring more MAC eyeshadows because I’ve branched out to other brands, such as Urban Decay, NARS, Chanel, Guerlain, and even drugstore gems like Wet n Wild eyeshadows.  The only MAC shadows I have on my wish list are Vapour, Shroom, Girlie, and Cork, but I’m not in a hurry to get them.

Mimi recently asked me to help balance our her own MAC eyeshadow palette, so I figured it was a good time to talk about the colors I tend to gravitate toward.

I’ve separated my eyeshadow palettes into 2 neutrals and 1 color.  The categorization isn’t perfect but it just helps me remember which color is in which palette.  The way I decided to label it is the top row of the labels correspond with the bottom row of the shadows, so if I closed the palette the names would end up on top of the colors.

my beautybagg: MAC neutral eyeshadows 1 (via Instagram)

Of the above palette, my faves are:

  • Phloof – inner-corner and brow-bone highlight when I go out in the evenings.  It’s a bit much for me in the daytime.
  • Naked Lunch – nice, subtle all over lid color to brighten the eyes or as a more subdued but shimmery highlight.
  • Satin Taupe – still my favorite taupey-purple color EVER
  • Sable – started wearing this again and I really like it.
  • Patina – such a nice, understated golden taupe. I did makeup for a bridal party I was part of, and I used this color on the bridesmaids – it was really pretty on a wide range of skin tones.
  • Woodwinked – the ultimate golden bronze color to wear when the weather is warmer and you want to look like Adriana Lima walking around the beaches of Copacabana (I wish).

my beautybagg: MAC neutral eyeshadows 2 (via Instagram)

The color on the upper left is from a quad I depotted (removed from its original container) and that shadow didn’t have a name, and I have no idea where I put my Espresso shadow (likely in rogue travel palette somewhere).  The colors I tend to reach for the most in this palette are:

  • Kid – great for blending for my skintone (around NC 25 on the MAC scale)
  • Quarry – another great blending color that leaves a slight gray/purple tone

my beautybagg: MAC color eyeshadows (via Instagram)

I only use this palette when I’m in the mood for color, so it’s not one that I reach for all that often.  (I find I’m more likely to reach for my NARS or Urban Decay colored shadows first).  I like them all, but if I were to recommend a few, they would be:

  • Nylon – makes for a cool inner-corner highlight on evenings out
  • Beautiful Iris – LOVE this as an all-over lid color, softly blended out at the edges
  • Shale – pretty, shimmery light purple all-over lid color
  • Deep Truth – such a beautiful deep blue!  I love it for a blue smokey eye or as a lower lash line pop of color.

What are your favorite MAC eyeshadows?  Are there any I should check out?  If other than MAC, what are your go-to eyeshadows?

2 comments

    • beautybaggblog

      WIth smokey eye it’s so hard to say because you can do some many different combos! I’d say pick out any 3 shades – one light for highlighting, one light-medium for blending, and a dark one for smoking out and you can go with any color scheme.

      I can tell you what shades I’ve worn to work before though – light wash of Patina, Satin Taupe, or Naked Lunch all over the lid, slap on some liner, maybe put on some mascara and be out the door in less than 2 minutes!

What do you think?

