My beautybagg: oo la la oils!

my beautybagg: face oils

I have a new-found obsession for oils.  This is the first year that I’ve ever explored with oils.  My mom has actually used a sesame-based face oil for a long time and loves it, and I always thought it was so weird that she would want to make her face all oily.  Little did I know that face oils do not make your face oily but make it soft and help balance oil production!

I have combination skin with an oily t-zone (I’m addicted to oil absorbing sheets), but I get dry areas especially when I go overboard with acne treatments.

However, this year I was turned on to a few face oils.  First, Gweneth Paltrow recommended Avibon oil in her French pharmacy post on Goop.  I was lucky enough to go to Paris for a long weekend so I picked it up at a pharmacy.  It smells like roses and is really great – it evened out my sensitive skin, and I think it even helped decrease my pimples!

Next, I got a sample of Pomega5 capsules in my Birchbox.  This is my absolute favorite item I’ve ever gotten from Birchbox, and although I have never converted to buying, I do constantly think about it.  I really loved these they were thick and nice and my skin was refreshed after I used them (although my boyfriend did complain that when I put them on at night my face looked oily).

My latest step into oils was buying the Rodin oils.  I have read countless reviews on one of my favorite beauty blogs, Into the Gloss, and everyone seems to use the face oil so I gave in and spent the big bucks.  I really love her oils, but they are super pricey and I wish I had a cheaper alternative.

Do you use oils on your face?  Let us know which ones you use!

5 comments

  1. Judy

    Mimi, I’m so curious to try out Avibon! It doesn’t look like a face oil at all since it’s in a tube.

    I’ve tried Josie Maran’s Argan Oil, Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery, and REN Omega 3 Night Repair Serum, and to be honest I’m not a fan of any of those. REN made me break out (and I NEVER break out from using skincare products), and I didn’t feel that Josie Maran’s Argan Oil and Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery did anything for me.

    I still believe in oils though since it’s been used for hundreds (thousands?) of years so I’m not giving up yet!

    • mimishih

      Avibon is pretty heavy it’s almost like vaseline – it’s in between – it smells great and a little goes a long way so it can sink into your face.

      I’m going to go to Whole Foods in Michigan and spend a long time in the products aisles to check things out and look for cheaper oils!

      • michelle l.

        I was able to find the product after looking forever. Amazon began selling it surprisingly!! love it and works wonders for me so far… If you have not yet found it you can now @ http://amzn.to/zLzFsV

What do you think?

