My beautybagg: products I regret buying

Sometimes it’s helpful to know not only what products work for others but also what DOESN’T, so we can take that into our purchase considerations.  If products don’t work out for me, I will generally return them, but some products I don’t develop a clear sense of whether I like it or not until I use it for awhile.

Here are products that I still have on hand that I regret buying and will either give away or toss out – if you’ve tried any of these products, did you like it?  How did you use it?

my beautybagg: products I regret purchasing (via Instagram)

Kérastase Volumeactive Amplifying Perfecting Mousse for Fine and Vulnerable Hair – Not only did this NOT provide any volume whatsoever, but it also weighed my hair down.  Not sure if I used too much, too little, or my styling technique was off – in any case, it was a total fail.

LUSH Solid Shampoo in Trichomania – I have tried and really enjoyed a few of LUSH’s Solid Shampoos; I love that they are package-free.  From my favorite to least favorite, I’ve tried AND finished: Seanik (actually gave my fine, limp hair some volume!), Squeaky Green (second favorite – love the eco-friendly concept), Karma Komba (not a huge fan of the scent), and Godiva (scent was too strong for me).  I wanted to try out Trichomania, because I love coconut-scented products in the hotter months, but I could not use this shampoo more than 2 times.  It did not lather as well as the other solid shampoos I’ve tried, and it was like rubbing a piece of rubber through my hair.

Laura Mercier Tightline Activator – This product is made to go with Laura Mercier’s Cake Eye Liners (I have black and brown), which I could use with water, but I wanted to see if this would make the eye liner stay better.  Well, I don’t know if it does, because it dried out before I got a chance to use it!!  Yes, I did keep it in my makeup collection untouched for 6 months, but… I did not expect it to totally dry out!

Bobbi Brown Natural Brow Shaper (tinted brow gel) in Mahogany – I guess I have no one to blame but myself – wrong color for me, and what I didn’t realize at the time of purchase – tinted brow gels aren’t supposed to give you brows where you currently have none.

REN Kit for Sensitive Skin – I got this because I wanted to try out REN products; they are natural and have gotten good reviews on Sephora.com.  However, I don’t particularly care for any of the products, because I didn’t find that they did anything.  I particularly did not like the Omega 3 Night Repair Serum, the product I was most excited about, because it actually made me break out (and I rarely break out from skincare products)!

Jo Malone Nectarine Blossom & Honey Cologne – I shouldn’t buy scents without smelling them first, I know.  This is just not my cup of tea.

Kiehl’s Açaí Damage-Protecting Toning Mist – For work, I used to fly out every Monday to the client’s site and then fly back every Thursday.  Every week.  So I got this to spray during and after flights and also at the office when my skin is feeling dull from indoor air circulation and lack of exposure to natural light.  I didn’t feel like this did anything – no difference in texture or tone, even though those claims are pretty outlandish for a spray toner.  I liked that it’s paraben and silicone free and Ecocert certified organic, but I didn’t find it to be effective.

The Body Shop Vitamin E Hydrating Toner – A gentle toner – so gentle it didn’t seem to do anything for me.

OPI I Juggle… Men – This looked like it had so much potential to be a pretty, shimmery top coat, but it just doesn’t show up at all.

Some Youtube beauty gurus have also made videos on products they’ve regretted purchasing – here are a few I found helpful and fun to watch.

  • Veronikasblushing – Veronika is a natural beauty currently living in Texas (woohoo!); she sticks to products and colors that work for her, and I find that inspiring (as I like to try everything).
  • MakeupbyAlli – Alli’s makeup advice is SPOT ON; love her tutorials too.
  • Nguerriero19 – Nicole’s videos are hilarious to watch – love her personality.

Do you have any products that you’ve regretted purchasing?  Please share the knowledge with us!

2 comments

  1. Yessie

    Great topic. I know products work differently for everyone so I always try and keep an open mind (btw I loved the links to the videos-so funny that there are some of us who love to see others regret lists!) the only one that comes to mind is wet n wild’s oil free make up remover. I bought this when I was visiting somewhere and had forgotten one of my many other eye make up removals at home. It’s horrible, smells horrendous and doesn’t even work the tiniest bit.

What do you think?

