My beautybagg: January 2012 favorite products

As it’s the last day of January, I wanted to share my favorite products of this past month.  Since I was away from home for about 2 weeks, these makeup/skincare products were my most-used as well.

my beautybagg: January 2012 favorite makeup/skincare products (via Instagram)

tarte Smooth Operator Amazonian Clay Tinted Moisturizer in shade Agent 14 – I’ve sung the praises of Chantecaille’s Just Skin Tinted Moisturizer in Glow plenty of times, but I really love this one as well.  It gives me a healthy glow that is darker than my normal shade (MAC NC 20-25), but it never looks unnatural.  It has spf 20, which is great since I’ve been lazy about applying extra spf in the winter.

Urban Decay Naked 2 palette – I find this much more wearable than the original Naked palette, and the huge mirror has been so helpful while on the road.  My favorite colors have been Verve over the inner 2/3 of the lid, Pistol or Busted in the outer 1/3, Blackout or Busted to set my eyeliner, and Bootycall for a lovely inner-corner highlight.

Laura Mercier travel brushes – These dual-ended brushes don’t lack any quality of the full-size versions, and they saved so much space.  More than enough to do any eye look I wanted to do.

Real Techniques Concealer brush + mini Sigma E25  – I used the concealer brush with the next item I’ll talk about, and the mini Sigma E25 came in handy for extra blending.

Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadow in Birthday Suit – I used this as a base for the Naked 2 colors and also on it’s own.  I’d forgotten how beautiful and easy it was.  Never creased on me, and I have pretty oily lids.

Yes to Cucumbers Facial Towelettes – I used these to remove all of my face makeup at the end of each day (not strong enough for waterproof mascara), and I also packed some extras in a separate baggie to take off my face makeup on the long overnight plane rides to/from Asia.  They were so refreshing to use on the plane when I couldn’t wash my face.

Chantecaille Rice and Geranium Foaming Cleanser – This was the only face wash I brought to Asia, and it was all that I needed.  It has tiny granules that lightly exfoliate, and it’s gentle enough to use morning and night.  I wouldn’t hesitate to repurchase this except that it’s $58 for 2.46 ounces (ouch!).

L’Oreal Super Blendable Blush in 225 Watchful Owl’s Blush – I LOVE THIS BLUSH!!  It’s the perfect peach color and has tiny shimmers in it that look super lovely.  I also brought my Jouer Blush in Blossom but I didn’t reach for it once with this as an option.

Real Techniques Blush Brush – Still my favorite, loved using it with the L’Oreal Watchful Owl blush.

Skindinavia Makeup Finishing Spray – I’ve long finished the original spray inside this bottle and have decanted some of Skindinavia’s No More Shine Makeup Finish Spray into it.  I’ve gotten into the habit of spraying this if I’m headed out for more than a few hours at a time.  I can’t say if it actually helps my makeup stay longer, but I like the finish it gives.

my beautybagg: January 2012 favorite hair products (via Instagram)

Shu Uemura Essence Absolue – This makes my hair so smooth and shiny, and it smells nice too.  Way better than the Moroccan Oil for me (the smell was too strong).

Phyto Phytodensium Shampoo – I felt that my long hair was falling out more than normal, so I picked up this “anti-aging” shampoo at sephora.com.  It’s supposed to make your hair fall out less, and I’m not sure if I’m imagining it, but I feel that it works!  I’d definitely repurchase this when it runs out and use it in my shampoo rotation.  I have the mask that I use as a conditioner, but I don’t feel like that’s anything special.

That’s all for my January favorites!  What were your favorite and/or most-used products for January?

4 comments

  1. mimishih

    i love the blush brush from our holiday exchange – i’ve been using it every day and it is so great thanks judy!! does the hair oil have fragrance?? omg i’m so worried about my hair falling out too!!

  2. shortisthenewblack

    I went out and bought the “Say Yes to Cucumbers” and I love them! I’m obsessed with the smell and they leave my skin feeling nice and soft. Instead of the tinted moisturizer by Tarte I got the “Smooth Operator” Amazonian Clay Waterproof Concealer and I LOVE!!!!

    Thanks for the great reviews!

    • beautybagg

      Yay! So glad you liked it!!

      I’m starting to think that every taste Amazonian Clay product is good – I love the tinted moisturizer and the blushes, and the concealer and the foundation both get rave reviews!

What do you think?

