My beautybagg: winter skincare

my beautybagg: winter skincare

During the winter months my combination/oily skin gets dry.  I was over at my friend Emily’s house the other day and she told me that my skin looked totally dehydrated, so I decided that I needed to adjust my regular skincare routine to accommodate for the drier weather.  I have oily skin and my skin constantly breaks out, but then the top layer of my skin is dry and sometimes flaky in the winter.  It’s really hard to get the balance right in the winter, because the last thing I want to do is break out.

I decided to get Clinique Youth Surge Night – which is an age-decelerating night cream for combination oily skin.  It’s really nice and light and is almost like a gel.  I’ve used it every night for a week now, mixing it occasionally with my Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair.  My skin looks noticeably fresher, and the fine lines I was getting due to dryness/aging are really starting to become less noticeable.  My skin looks firmer and plumper in the mornings.

I also picked up Clinique Moisture Surge Intense – this is also a gel, and it’s pink and super cute.  I use it on those dry flaky patches I get on the sides of my forehead and near my nose.  It’s working really well and has not caused any breakouts.  A little goes a long way with this product.

Do you change your normal skincare routine in the winter?  Please share!

One comment

  1. Judy

    Wow, I want to try the Clinique moisturizers now! Partially because I’m starting to really detest heavily scented products.

    I don’t change my normal skincare routine in the winter all that much. I got a heavier moisturizer, Naturopathica Calendula Essential Hydrating Cream, to use in the winter, but because I really don’t like the smell I don’t end up using it.

What do you think?

