My beautybagg: Nail Polish Out 2012 update

This year, one of my beauty resolutions is to limit myself to only getting 12 nail polishes for the entire year of 2012.  Well, I’ve purchased 6 so far, and it’s only the beginning of March.  Basically, I blame this on Butter London’s Spring 2012 collection.  I didn’t have any Butter London polishes until now.

Here’s what I’ve purchased so far (in order of acquisition):

Sephora by OPI Don’t Feed the Hand Models – I saw this on Fafinettex3 (start at 2:45 in the video; be warned – she’s hyper in the video, but her recommendations are good), and it looked SO NICE on her.  This wasn’t at my local Sephora store so I had to order it online.  

Revlon Whimsical – Supposedly a more opaque dupe of Deborah Lippmann Glitter in the Air; really like this as a top coat.  I wore it over NARS Poker Face and loved the combination.

Butter London Knackered – Kind of a duochrome-ish color with holographic glitters.  It’s not my usual kind of color but it’s interesting looking.  Probably could have done without this one though.

Butter London Trout Pout – I love bright corals.  Will be great for late spring and summer.  I thought Essie Tarte Deco would be similar but that looked a bit more orange.

Butter London Bossy Boots – I have two different light mint greens but no light PISTACHIO green yet.  Really nice for the spring.  I have Essie Da Bush, which is similar but more muted.

OPI Pink Friday – After seeing this on fashion blogger Jules, I had to get it.  Will be gorgeous in the summer with a tan.

I did get MAC Oriele Orange from the Iris Apfel Collection and two colors from the Nicole by OPI Kardashian Kollection but ended up returning them.

Remaining on my wish list are Dior Waterlily (probably all sold out by now), Laura Mercier Sizzle and more Butter London polishes.  I have been questioned about how I will keep to just 6 polishes for the rest of the year, and to that I say, polishes that are gifts don’t count! 😉

What are your recent nail polish faves or additions?  What’s on your wish list?

4 comments

  1. mimishih

    Judy you are obsessed with nail polish I can’t even handle it. I saw this like really nude sandy looking color on a girl the other day and liked it – do you have any suggestions for a color like that?

    • beautybagg

      Nude sandy color.. – yes there are tons! Do you want a lighter or darker one? The Sephora by OPI Don’t Feed the Hand Models one I got fits the bill, as well as OPI Tickle My Francey – these two have a TINY bit of a pink undertone that I think is flattering. Essie Sand Tropez and Dior Camel (might still be available on Sephora.com) are also nice.

What do you think?

