My skincare routine for dry skin

This post is brought to you by our friend Lilian, who is of mixed ethnicity – half Japanese/half Caucasian.  She has an unfailingly sunny disposition and has beautiful skin, and now we can see how!

I am obsessed with skincare, and I LOVE moisturizing my skin – whether it’s moisturizing my body, or putting cream on my face, or even putting on hand cream after I wash my hands.  I have extremely dry skin and my skin just NEEDS constant moisturizing.  My dermatologist tells me in order to maintain good skin and prevent dryness, I should not take more than one shower/day and that I have to moisturize my hands/body every time I wash my hands/take a shower.

So today, I want to show you my skincare moisturizing routine.  My boyfriend makes fun of me that I take SO long getting ready for bed, because I am always standing in front of the bathroom mirror putting the many layers of cream on my face!  But I realize I LOVE working on my skincare routine– as it’s important to feel good/look good everyday!  And the foundation of external beauty starts from clear soft SKIN!

Here’s my skincare routine – I have a different set of moisturizing lotion I wear for morning and night time so I’ll introduce you to both.

NIGHT ROUTINE

Lilian's night skincare routine for dry skin

After I wash my face, I first put my La Mer hydrating infusion (cosmetic water lotion).  Important to note that this is NOT a toner.  In Japan, this hydrating lotion, also called cosmetic water lotion, is the most important step to maintain smooth and clean skin.  Toners are way too powerful for me, and I think it smells like alcohol, which I don’t like.

Then, I wear the Estee Lauder Re-Nutriv serum followed by the Advanced Night Repair Eye serum.  (You must know how to put it on the eyes too….need to gently tap around the eye area with the touch of your fingertips in a soft circular motion.)  At the very end, I put the La Mer creme.  You have to smooth out the creme on your fingertips first (like spreading butter) and gently tap the cream onto your face.

MORNING ROUTINE

Lilian's daytime skincare routine

After I wash my face, I put my Estee Lauder CyberWhite EX Extra Brightening Moisture Lotion Tonique (same as cosmetic water lotion.)  I love the CyberWhite cosmetic water lotion as I feel so refreshed and awake after putting it on. CyberWhite is famous for anti-aging and prevents dark spots from forming.  This brand is targeted to Asian women skin, so it’s perfect for me.  Then I put the Estee Lauder Idealist serum, which I also love.  The Idealist feels so smooth and your skin looks so radiant afterwards.  Then I wear a lotion called EST inner whitening protect emulsion.  It’s a Japanese brand under Kao company.  This is a great moisturizer because it is SPF 50 (great for the day) and the lotion is very thin so it doesn’t feel heavy. Finally, I start wearing my liquid foundation & makeup….which is a whole other routine!

EVERY 4-6 WEEKS

Lilian's Shiseido sheet mask

You are supposed to wear this sheet mask once ever 2 weeks but I usually use it every 4-6 weeks.  Below is a picture of me and the Shiseido sheet mask I like wearing.  You wear the mask after putting on the hydrating/cosmetic water lotion at night.  Think of the mask as a serum.  I keep the mask on my face for about 10-20 minutes, and I after I take it off, I apply my face with moisturizing creme.

This is how you wear a sheet mask!

So here is my skincare regimen – I continue to look for good skincare products!  I especially want to know what you think is the best hydrating/cosmetic water lotion, because I realized that not many Americans wear it, and so it’s harder to find good ones.  I think hydrating lotion is an Asian thing.

Lilian without a face mask 😉

Will you share your skincare routine??

4 comments

  1. Judy

    Lilian, because of your post I am forever going to use a hydrating lotion/toner! I want to try out the La Mer Radiance Infusion. Thanks so much for sharing!! 🙂

  2. mimishih

    Lil you are so pretty and I love your skin!! It totally does take a lot of work tho. I’ve read a lot that people recommend using a hydrating water or something besides toner after you have washed your face because tap water totally unbalances your face. I’ve heard that the Avene water is good for a cheaper alternative. I totally also wear face masks and look like that haha!

  3. Ronald

    I must thank yyou for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog.

    I am hoping to check out the same high-grade content from you later on aas well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get
    my own website now 😉

What do you think?

