Makeup favorites from my beautybagg at SXSW

This year was our first time at SXSW Interactive (a conference for emerging technology), since we’re just getting started as a tech startup here at beautybagg.  We learned a TON and are looking forward to bringing you a place where you can share and discover beauty with your friends!

So when I was packing, I knew I would be out from early morning to late at night, so I wanted to bring products that could last on my combination/oily skin.  I also wanted to try some products that I’ve had in my beautybagg for quite some time but usually don’t reach for.  I’m so glad I did this, because I rediscovered how AWESOME some of these products are.

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Foundation – My color is in B30 (I’m around MAC NC 25), and it matches me really well.  The key to this foundation is that you have to shake the bottle first, and application is best with your fingers.  I used to apply it with a Sigma F80 flat-top kabuki brush but it looked so streaky with that.  I got the idea to spread gently onto the face using fingers after seeing Ingrid’s (Missglamorazzi on Youtube) video on how she uses this foundation, and it’s now my current favorite out of all the foundations I own.  I do set it with Laura Mercier Translucent Powder just to make sure it lasts and touch up with Maybelline Dream Matte Powder once during the day.

Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage – My color is in SC-3.  I’ve had this for awhile but never got really into using it, because I need to use it with a brush.  However, I decided to pull it out since it’s Lisa Eldridge’s fave, and I have to say, it lasts all day and is awesome!  Not good for under eyes though – just blemishes/discoloration on the face.

tarte emphasEYES aqua gel eyeliner in dark brown – I can’t even remember when I picked this up, but I decided to pull this out since dark brown eyeliner is much more natural than black.  It’s very cooling when it goes on – feels like cold water.  I smudge it a bit with a MAC 219 pencil brush and then set it with the next item I’ll talk about.  Doesn’t smear AT ALL, and I have extremely oily lids.  Love.

Edward Bess Ultra-Luminous Eyeshadow in Dusk – I got this after seeing RaeViewer on Youtube rave about it, and I’m so glad I did.  It’s such a pretty darkened gray taupey color that doesn’t look harsh.  Applies beautifully.

Have you ever rediscovered products from your beautybagg?

2 comments

  1. mimishih

    Do you like the mercier coverup for pimples and red spots? I bought the cle de peu and i’m not in love with it and still looking for a good face coverup

    • Judy

      I LOVE Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage for blemishes/redness. It’s hard and waxy so will last on your face. You’re probably my color – SC3.

      The Cle de Peau concealer in Ivory you got is best for using on your under eye area – in the morning, moisturize with an eye cream, wait for that to sink in, then apply the Cle de Peau. I have the Cle de Peau in Beige which I sometimes use to cover redness on my face but it’s a bit too pink.

What do you think?

