Foray into highlighters

I’ve been trying out different highlighters after seeing Lisa Eldridge use them so beautifully in her tutorials on Youtube.  I have the Clinique Up-lighting Liquid Illuminator in BronzeNARS Illuminator in Orgasm, and Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Pearl.

L to R: Clinique, Becca, NARS

L to R: Clinique, NARS, Becca

Clinique Up-lighting Liquid Iluminator in Bronze isn’t technically a highlighter; it’s nice if you are looking for a liquid bronzer, but it can really only be used in small amounts on your cheeks and temples, otherwise it gets to be too much.  I know a lot of girls like an all over bronze look, but this isn’t really not for that.

NARS Illuminator in Orgasm is nice on the checks, but it’s so light and blends into my skin that I can barely notice when I have it on.  It also has started separating on me, and the oil and the tint come out sort of globby.

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Pearl is the one I like the best.  It gives you a nice glowing look with a light shine that fades into your skin and highlights in a very natural way.  I put it over my blush on the tops of my cheeks and right below more brow.  I really like this one the best, but it has fragrance (which I am allergic to) so I try to use it sparingly.

Do you use any highlighting products?  What have you tried, and which are your favorites?

2 comments

  1. Judy

    The Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector has gotten so much attention since Lisa Eldridge showed it as one of her faves! I have way too many highlighters, but I really want to try it…

    My go-to highlighters are: Dior Amber Diamond, MAC By Candlelight, Benefit Moonbeam (NOT Highbeam, which I don’t use very much), and MAC Strobe Cream (use under foundation). I also really like Laura Mercier Starlight but it’s loose so I don’t bring it in my beautybagg very often.

What do you think?

