From my beautybagg: Sunday Riley roundup

As many of you know, I became slightly obsessed with Sunday Riley after I got her amazing lip gloss in my Barney’s bag.  I went out immediately and bought the Good Genes Treatment off barneys.com without even testing the product.  I also got the Gray Expose Cleanser and the Liquid Light Breathable Perfecting Foundation.

I love Good Genes (reviewed here).  It’s an exfoliating treatment that refreshes my skin and makes my skin feel much softer and smoother.  I use it now about 4-5 times a week like a serum. The product comes out milky white and is very light.  The smell is a bit medicinal, so some people might not like it.  It doesn’t irritate or cause my skin to break out, and I feel like it really does refresh and renew my skin.

The Gray Expose Cleanser is just so-so in my book, and I will not repurchase.  It comes out very runny and is a gray color with black specs (might be the black pepper in the ingredients).  It’s too liquidy for my taste and does not foam, so it doesn’t feel like I’m getting a good clean.  I don’t think it’s helped my acne, but it does get off most of my makeup.  I personally like a foaming or thicker cleanser like the Kate Sommerville Detox or the Ren ClearCalm3 Clarifying Clay Cleanser.

Next, I went out and bought the Liquid Light Breathable Perfecting Foundation in the shade 120W.  I like the color match a lot, but it’s not a full coverage foundation.  The texture is very light and blends well into my skin, but I prefer a little more coverage.  I will not repurchase and will continue to look for a good foundation that covers my red areas yet also feels light.  If you don’t want heavy coverage foundations, I would definitely recommend this product because it really does feel great on your skin.

While I was at Barney’s buying the Sunday Riley goodies, I also picked up a few samples.  The first sample I tried was the Sunday Riley’s popular Juno Transformative Lipid Serum.  I reviewed this against my Rodin Olio Lusso face oil and I still like the Rodin oil better, but Juno is quite nice too (Judy prefers the Juno).

Next, I tried the Start Over Eye Cream, and I really liked the sample.  The product is very thick, and it did seem to help the fine lines I get under my eyes.  At $85, it is a pricey eye cream, and I still have a lot of my Clinique Repairwear Intensive Eye Cream (reviewed here) left.  I would consider the Sunday Riley eye cream if my wrinkles get worse under my eyes, but for now the Clinique is fine.

I also tried the Skin Adrenaline and Bionic Anti-Aging Cream.  Both of these creams are light and smell a little citrusy, and both seemed a bit sticky.  I tried both separately for 3 days and didn’t love either, because I started to get small pimples.  I’m not sure if the creams caused this, but I stopped usage just in case.  I did read that Emily of Into the Gloss likes the Bionic as a primer.

Overall, my fave Sunday Riley product is still the Crème Gloss Sheer Impact Lip Color in Beach Front.  Really cannot beat the shine and moisture it gives your lips without the stickiness.  Next, I like Good Genes and Start Over Eye Cream.  It’s still not that easy to find a lot of information about her products (Lola’s Secret Beauty is still our favorite for Sunday Riley product overviews), and I didn’t find the sales associate at the Barney’s here in NYC to be very helpful.

Have you tried Sunday Riley products?  If so, what do you think about them?  If not, are you interested in trying?

2 comments

  1. Judy

    Mimi, I’ve been waiting to hear your thoughts on all of the Sunday Riley products you’ve tried!

    I have the Juno oil and I’ve come to LOVE it. Leaves my skin so glowy. I want to get a full-size of Good Genes and the Bionic OR Skin Adrenaline next. I got a few samples of the Skin Adrenaline and really liked it.

    Are you going to try any more Sunday Riley products?

What do you think?

