My favorite face wash: Kate Somerville Purify Clarifying Cleanser

I’ve tried a lot of facial cleansers over the past few years.  As you age and your skin changes, your facial cleanser has to change along with it. I have noticed that the texture of my skin is not as resilient as it used to be, but one thing that has remained the same is my skin type – I have oily/combination skin that is prone to breakouts when I’m stressed.  One cleanser I keep coming back to is the Kate Somerville Purify Clarifying Cleanser.  It is my ALL-TIME FAVORITE face wash, and I am on my 4th or 5th tube.

Kate Somerville Purify Clarifying Cleanser (new and old packaging) via Instagram

This is a cream face wash, and it has salicylic acid to help exfoliate and balance oil production.  The key ingredient for me is peppermint oil – this face wash FEELS and SMELLS incredible.  I personally love the fresh, cooling smell and sensation of peppermint, and this face wash makes me feel so refreshed and clean.  I even look forward to using this in the mornings, because I find that it helps me feel more awake.  I use it with my Clarisonic Mia in the evenings when I shower, and it feels like a mini spa experience.

Kate Somerville’s more popular cleansers are her Detox Daily Cleanser and Gentle Daily Wash, which both come in jumbo 16oz containers (note to Kate Somerville: can you please make the Purify in a 16oz container too??).  I’ve tried Detox Daily Cleanser and only thought it was ok; I couldn’t wait to use it up so I could get another tube of the Purify Clarifying Cleanser (note that it used to be called the Purify Exfoliating Cleanser, but the formula seems to be the same).

I HIGHLY recommend this face wash to anyone who loves the cooling sensation of peppermint and has oily/combination skin.  At $32, it’s not inexpensive, but as a product I use twice everyday that has therapeutic benefits, it’s worth it to me!

Have you tried this before?  What’s your favorite face wash?

2 comments

  1. Mimi

    LOVE this face wash as well! foams nicely and it also feels great and gets my makeup off and leaves my face with a great clean feeling.

  2. Lydia

    Great review. I saw this at Sephora last week and made a note to find out more about it. I’ve never used any Kate Somerville products but I need something a little tougher than my current Purity by Philosophy cleanser.

What do you think?

