Rahua hair care review

Because of my skin allergies, I’ve been trying to switch to all organic products.  I’ve heard great things about the brand Rahua; their products are:

  • Organic
  • Free of synthetics, parabens, and sulfates
  • 100% natural and vegan

So, when when GOOP showcased some of Rahua’s products in a recent newsletter and offered 15% off at b-glowing.com (use code goophair, valid until June 23, 2012), I took this opportunity to get the Rahua Voluminous Shampoo, Conditioner, and Voluminous Hair Spray.

I’ve used the products for about a month now, and I’m loving the Voluminous Shampoo and hair spray.  The shampoo lathers up well and has a pleasant, light scent.  It comprises of the following components (from the Rahua website):

  • Lemongrass and Green tea create body, volume and bounce by balancing and removing excess oils from the hair shaft, without compromising the integrity of the hair.
  • Citric juices break down oils extending time between washes.
  • Ungurahua oil is rich in Omega-9 and helps to restore, heal, moisturize and strengthen hair follicles and shaft, resulting in stronger, healthier hair.
  • Jojoba adds moisturizing properties and nourishment to the hair.
  • Lavender and eucalyptus provide an aromatheraputic component

It’s also nice and thick, which I like with my shampoo/conditioner products.  I’m not sure what it’s doing for me on the volume front, since I have coarse hair;  I only decided to buy the Voluminous shampoo after reading reviews that the Rahua Shampoo (non-volumizing formula) is too thick for everyday use.  I would definitely repurchase the shampoo – especially if there’s a discount, because at $32, it’s very pricey.

The conditioner ($34) is nice – it detangles and is, again, nice and thick – but the scent is off-putting.  It’s a strong sort of nutty smell, and I don’t like it.  I might try to switch to the Voluminous Conditioner to see if the scent is better.  Its components are:

  • Rahua oil fortifies weak, damaged strands while nourishing and regenerating the scalp and hair follicles.
  • Palo Santo (Bursera graveolens) offers delicate fragrance – providing a soothing aromatherapy experience while conditioning.
  • Quinoa promotes healing and moisture retention.
  • Green tea leaf extract (Camellia Oleifera) mitigates damage from UV-ray exposure.
  • Aloe Barbadensis moisturizes, energizes and regenerates lackluster manes to renewed vibrancy.

The hair spray ($28) is more like a light styling spray.  If you are looking for serious hold, this is definitely not the product for you.  It gives a touchable, light hold and is not sticky.  I use it before and after styling with a blow dryer and curling iron.  My hair keeps its shape and is soft throughout the day.

I would recommend Rahua products to anyone looking for luxury organic hair care.

Have you tried Rahua or other organic hair care products?

One comment

  1. Judy

    I TOTALLY WANT TO TRY THIS. I have very long, fine hair and need all the
    volume I can get. Natural hair care really is the way to go – I read that the scalp is the most porous part of the body, so I want to avoid chemicals in hair products if at all possible.

    Adding Rahua Voluminous Shampoo + Conditioner to my wish list!

What do you think?

