Current skincare favorites + mini reviews

I recently became part of the “30+” age category, and now I am VERY SERIOUS about skincare.  I also place emphasis on natural products (paraben-free, no synthetic fragrances, etc.) and am combatting discoloration from previous breakouts.  Here are 3 products I’ve been using and REALLY enjoying for the past few months:

Thayers Rose Petal Witch Hazel – This toner is extremely gentle, and that’s exactly what I wanted.  Witch hazel is great for toning oily/combo skin, and rose water is a natural remedy that helps to combat acne.  The scent is light and non-offensive even for those who don’t like rose scents (me), and it  helps clean and prep my skin for subsequent treatments.  I use this to clean my skin before going to hot yoga in the afternoons and in the evening before my typical skincare routine.  I will repurchase when I run out.  $9.95 for a 12oz bottle.

Sibu Hydrating Serum – Sibu is a natural skincare line based on ingredient called sea buckthorn, which is a berry high in Omegas 3, 6, and 9.  This is an extremely light, non-scented moisturizing serum and layers well under other skincare products.  I use this both morning and night, and it provides enough hydration for my oily/combo skin.  As the weather gets drier, I’ll layer a moisturizer over this.  While I haven’t seen revolutionary results, it gets the job done and is easy to slap on as a one-step skincare routine when I’m feeling lazy.  This is my second bottle, and I will repurchase when I run out… unless there is another non-scented moisturizing serum out there that’s more effective.  Sibu comes up on Hautelook every now and then, so I’ll pick up a bottle or two when it’s on there again.  $39.95 for 1 fl oz.

Suki Exfoliate Foaming Cleanser – I love this exfoliating cleanser!  It’s again, natural, and smells of lemons.  It’s made of rather course granules, but when it is rubbed into the hands or face, it starts foaming and becomes a cleanser.  I scoop a bit out in my hands and mix it with water, so most of the granules have already foamed in my hands, THEN I rub it into my face.  Lemon is a natural remedy for lightening discoloration on the skin, and exfoliating is good for this as well.  I don’t care for the glass jar it comes in (I’m always afraid I’ll drop it in the shower), but I like the product enough to overlook that.  If you have cystic acne, the instructions caution not to use this more than 3 times per week.  I’m not sure yet if I will repurchase this when I run out, because I like to try different facial cleansers, but I really enjoy using it.  $32.95 for 4 fl oz.

And sneak peek at the next blog post..

Le Metier de Beaute Peau Vierge Anti-Aging Complex – This is a “tinted treatment” for the face.  It’s essentially a tinted moisturizer with retinol and other skin care benefits in it, and I LOVE IT.  Dedicated review coming up next!

What skincare products are you loving recently?

One comment

What do you think?

