Three Items to Add to Your Skincare Routine

I recently spent a weekend with some girlfriends and was asked about my “TOP MUST-HAVE” skincare products, and rather than do a lengthy email to them on this subject, I thought to do a blog post and just send them a link.  I  get asked about skincare quite often, because 1) I buy and try a LOT of products, and 2) despite being in my early 30’s, I regularly get mistaken for being 5-15 years younger than I actually am (I haven’t decided if looking 10-15 years younger is a good or bad thing yet).

So the usuals first – I have combination to oily skin that is prone to hyper-pigmentation, and I’m VERY concerned about aging.  VERY.  Whatever your current skincare routine, these are three products that I recommend that have worked on me.  Oh, and you know you should be wearing a sunscreen (ideally a physical one) everyday, right?

Top 3 Items to Add to Your Existing Skincare Routine

skincare

1. Clarisonic Mia (or Mia2) – It goes without saying that you need to wash your face with a facial cleanser at least once a day.  I do it twice, but I know some people only do it once – whatever floats your boat.  But since adding the Clarisonic to my nightly cleansing, I’ve noticed less congested pores and grime on my cotton pad when I’m following up with a toner.  I use this once a day at night with either CeraVe Foaming Facial Cleanser or Pai Camellia & Rose Gentle Hydrating Cleanser (nice, but won’t repurchase).  My favorite brush head is  Deep Pore, which feels softer than the Sensitive one.

2. Retinol – Retinol is a form of vitamin A and is one of those anti-aging powerhouse ingredients you need to put on your face RIGHT NOW to diminish signs of hyper-pigmentation, fine lines, etc.  I like SkinCeuticals Retinol 0.5 Refining Night Cream – retinol can be harsh on your skin, and this one isn’t too bad.  I’ve used prescription retinol before, and I couldn’t endure past the very painful phase.  I’ve seen results with this gentle OTC version, but if I use it too many days in a row, I will get dry, peeling skin for the following week, but that’s how retinol is.

3. Antioxidant serum or moisturizer – Skincare experts will tell you that if you use retinol + some sort of antioxidant, you’re basically set.  I’m on my 2nd tube of the Clinique Super Rescue Antioxidant Night Moisturizer in the Combo Oily to Oily formulation, and I LOVE IT.  It’s a great moisturizer that doesn’t make me feel greasy yet provides enough hydration.  I’m going to switch to the Dry Combo version when my current tube runs out since we’re going into winter soon.  If I use it when my skin is feeling raw from retinol, it’ll definitely sting, so I opt for a more nourishing moisturizer then.

What are your skincare must haves?

20 comments

  1. best compact digital camera

    Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard
    time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then
    most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had
    to ask!

  2. best toilet

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite certain I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

  3. best electric lawn mower

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.

    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare
    to see a nice blog like this one today.

  4. best inversion table

    You’re so awesome! I don’t believe I’ve truly read anything like that before.
    So good to find somebody with some unique thoughts on this subject.

    Really.. thank you for starting this up. This web site is one thing
    that is required on the web, someone with a little originality!

  5. power washer reviews

    Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to
    no data backup. Do you have any methods to stop hackers?

  6. best pressure cookers

    hi!,I really like your writing so so much! share we keep up a correspondence more
    about your article on AOL? I require an expert on this house to resolve my problem.

    Maybe that is you! Looking ahead to peer you.

  7. acoustic guitar for sale

    I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and amusing, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is an issue that not enough people are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  8. best pressure washers

    I think this is one of the most significant info for
    me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark
    on few general things, The website style is perfect, the articles is really nice :
    D. Good job, cheers

  9. security systems reviews

    I am curious to find out what blog system you’re utilizing?

    I’m having some small security issues with my latest website and
    I would like to find something more risk-free. Do you have any solutions?

  10. binoculars reviews

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about
    this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some
    pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog.

    A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

  11. best coffee grinders

    Thanks for any other fantastic article. Where else could anybody get that kind of info in such a perfect manner of
    writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the look for such information.

What do you think?

